

NONPROFIT MEDIA PANEL DISCUSSION

MAY 18, 2019 • DEPAUL UNIVERSITY, CDM THEATER • 10:30 AM

FEATURED GUESTS



Co-founder, City Bureau



Editor-in-chief,
ProPublica Illinois



JARED RUTECKI
Investigative Reporter,
Better Government Association



JACKIE SERRATO

Journalist,
Chicago Reporter

AGENDA

10:30-11 AM Sign-In/Networking

11 AM-12 PM
Nonprofit Media Panel Discussion

12-12:15 PM
Audience Questions/Interactions

12:15-12:30 PM

Closing Remarks/Chicago Journalists Association Information

NONPROFIT MEDIA PANEL DISCUSSION

ABOUT THE FEATURED GUESTS



BETTINA CHANG

Co-founder, City Bureau

Bettina is both co-founder and editorial director of City Bureau, a civic journalism lab in Chicago committed to producing more equitable media. She previously edited at Chicago magazine, DNAinfo and Pacific Standard.

@bechang8



LOUISE KIERNAN

Editor-in-chief, ProPublica Illinois

Louise comes to ProPublica from Northwestern University. Before then, she worked for the Chicago Tribune for 18 years, serving as the newspaper's enterprise editor, writing coach, urban affairs team editor and a special team editor and reporter.

🏏 @louisekiernan



JARED RUTECKI

Investigative Reporter, Better Government Association

Jared manages the Better Government Association databases and creates stories on state and local government matters, including topics such as pensions, payroll and public safety. He was previously the web producer of The Columbus Dispatch.

@JaredRutecki



JACKIE SERRATO

Journalist, Chicago Reporter

Jackie has written for Pilsen Portal, City Bureau and Social Justice News Nexus and built La Villita page for self-sustainable journalism with more than 130K followers.

@HechaEnChicago

NONPROFIT MEDIA PANEL DISCUSSION

CHICAGO JOURNALISTS ASSOCIATION HISTORY

The 80-year-old Chicago Journalists Association is a respected nonprofit organization that has been rewarding journalistic excellence and providing comradeship among Chicago area journalists since 1939. CJA annually hosts several prestigious Journalism award competitions: The Sarah Boyden Awards, the Daniel Pearl Award, and the Dorothy Storck Award.

CHICAGO JOURNALISTS ASSOCIATION LEADERSHIP

President: Maudlyne Ihejirika, Columnist, Chicago Sun-Times

Vice President/Treasurer: Yudi Zhang, President, CSN News International

Vice President/Secretary: Stephanie Choporis, Managing Editor, Happenstance

Board of Directors: Jessica Raines, WGN Radio; Lyanne Alfaro, Nasdaq; Ariel Parrella-Aureli,

LoganSquarist; and La Shawn Cobb, Freelance Journalist.

CJA's new Executive Board is excited about this newest chapter in our distinguished history! We have eliminated annual membership dues, and welcome all Chicago area journalists to our ranks!

CHICAGO JOURNALISTS ASSOCIATION ONLINE



chicagojournos.org



ChicagoJournalistsAssociation



@CJA_Updates



@chi_journalists_association

If you're interested in joining our respected organization, please send a resume/bio to chicagocja@gmail.com.